Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Accelerometer to trace path? — Parallax Forums

Accelerometer to trace path?

moihussainmoihussain Posts: 2
edited 2012-01-31 01:13 in Accessories
Hi. I, along with a few friends am working on a project in which we aim to trace the path of a model aircraft. I am new to accelerometers. What I understand about them is that we could obtain resolved values of acceleration along the x,y and z directions(please correct me if I'm wrong). How feasible is tracing the path of this model aircraft based on the accelerometer output values?
Any suggestions or advice are highly appreciated.

Hussain

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-26 11:58
    A single tri-axes accelerometer doesn't provide enough information to compute a path. It doesn't provide rotational information. You'll need a tri-axes gyro as well as the accelerometer to compute a path. (Or add a couple more tri-axes accellerometers to allow you to compute rotation.)

It's very like (make that certain) you'll have accululated error over time so you path wont be precise. This is one reason guidance systems use multiple sensors including GPS.

I do think it would be a fun project to see how accurately the path was described by the sensors.

BTW, welcome to the forums.
  • moihussainmoihussain Posts: 2
    edited 2012-01-29 01:38
    Thank you, Duane.
    Duane Degn wrote: »
    Or add a couple more tri-axes accelerometers to allow you to compute rotation

That seems to be a good idea to me. We'll try out with it. If it isn't working then we'll probably go for 6-axis sensing by adding a gyroscope as you suggested.
    Thank you.

Hussain
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-29 09:54
    If you use multiple accelerometers, the linked paper will help you figure out your rotation.

http://obex.parallax.com/objects/download/aux/47/
  • Dr_AculaDr_Acula Posts: 5,484
    edited 2012-01-30 15:03