Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Ken/Cluso99/ W9GFO/JasonD's QuadCopter Build Log (updated info ELEV-8 + availability) - Page 25 — Parallax Forums

Ken/Cluso99/ W9GFO/JasonD's QuadCopter Build Log (updated info ELEV-8 + availability)

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,386
    edited 2012-01-19 14:22
    T-Bone wrote: »
    Ken, thanks for the welcome and the quick answer. I'm a prop hobbyist (currently building an automated tennis ball shooter for the dog) and don't know if I'm really ready for the ELEV-8.

The Sacramento-area agency that I work for is about to kick off a creek restoration project. I would like to use something like the ELEV-8 to photo-document our progress from the air. It will be very cool as we rip out an old concrete channel carve a new, meandering creek with native flora and fauna.

Would you be interested in loaning your ELEV-8 periodically to help us capture this transformation on (digital) film?

Sure. Just tell me when you need it. I'd ask you to come in for a flight training first and I'd mount the Hoverfly PRO board so you have an easier time getting the video you want.

I can give you a flight training at Parallax January 30th or 31st. Your choice, or even later.

Sincerely,

Ken Gracey
  • JasonDorieJasonDorie Posts: 1,930
    edited 2012-01-19 14:25
    If you've never flown one before you might be surprised at how tricky it is to do it well. Not trying to dissuade you from owning one, but "can I borrow it to film something" might be getting yourself into more than you'd expect. (I hope that's not coming across as snarky - it's certainly not intended in that way)

If you can't find someone local to do it, I'm in Petaluma which is only about an hour away. I have an Elev-8 and a personal quad that I'm adding a stabilizing camera gimbal to, and I'll likely be looking for an excuse to use it.

Edit: Apparently Ken types faster than me. :)
  • T-BoneT-Bone Posts: 17
    edited 2012-01-19 15:15