Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Communicating with XBee: Near real time control — Parallax Forums

Communicating with XBee: Near real time control

S. MartinS. Martin Posts: 5
edited 2010-04-09 01:04 in General Discussion
I've got two Javelin modules and two Digi XBee Pro 900 DigiMesh RF modems. Currently I'm doing a FPV RC airplane project and was hoping to use these as my control system. Being an airplane, I need as close to real time control as possible.

I set up a demo with one Tx Javelin reading a pot, sending it to the Tx radio, to the Rx radio, to the Rx Javelin, to control a servo. Just a bench test to see how it goes.

Problem is, it goes slow. Input will take a few seconds to register on the Rx radio, and another five or ten to be seen as servo movement. I'm fairly new to this realm, but not totally incompetent. The communication is UART, with handshaking, set at 57600 baud (highest Javelin will let me go), 1 stop bit. Data being sent is a single byte, read from the pot, over and over. I've included the Rx and Tx code. Nothing elegant - just quick and dirty to get a test going.

Perhaps I'm sending too much too fast? I know these microcontrollers and radios have been used together to control things before, so it has to get faster then this. What simple newb thing am I missing?

Comments

• Peter VerkaikPeter Verkaik Posts: 3,956
    edited 2010-04-08 06:50
    Limit baudrate to 28800. That is the highest speed at which the
    javelin can·receive without missing any byte.

regards peter
    ·
  • S. MartinS. Martin Posts: 5
    edited 2010-04-09 01:04
    Thank you for the reply.