Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Hanno's Video and Notes from the UPENE — Parallax Forums

Hanno's Video and Notes from the UPENE

HannoHanno Posts: 1,130
edited 2009-08-25 05:21 in Propeller 1
Hello!
Thanks Jeff for organizing another excellent Propeller Expo! Here's a video of my talk:
www.youtube.com/watch?v=duqeRK0OzdQ

Here are my notes:
"Hi, my name is Hanno Sander. I'm a full time propeller developer. In the last 2 years I’ve worked on several fun projects, including the DanceBot, the PropScope, the IODreamkit, ViewPort, and 12Blocks.

2 years ago I breadboarded my first dancebot with a Propeller Chip, a gyroscope and an accelerometer. I succeeded in getting it to balance and move under programmatic control and dance interactively with a vision system. My latest robot was displayed as an art exhibit for 4 weeks where it balanced a flute of champagne.

To help me develop and debug dancebot I developed ViewPort. Viewport started as a tool to monitor and change variables- to help me understand what's going on while my program was running. I soon added an 80msps logic analyzer, a fuzzy logic engine with graphical control panel, and support for computer vision with a frame grabber and vision engine that runs on the Propeller and an integration with OpenCV. I recently added a visual spin code debugger that was compared favorably to Visual Studio in the September edition of Robot magazine. It supports stepping over single lines of spin code, breakpoints, stack trace, function profiler, a memory map, and a command interpreter- all tools invaluable to developers, but fun and easy to use for beginners