Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller vs Stamp — Parallax Forums

Propeller vs Stamp

Dave AdamsDave Adams Posts: 1
edited 2008-03-07 20:40 in Propeller 1
Hi,

I just joined the group and am hoping to get advice on the propellor vs stamp.· I have wanted to experiment with a microcontroller and robotics for some time and now have some time to pursue it.· I have a couple of applications in mind.· I have a model railroad that I would like to automate the signaling and sound effects.· There are more than 16 items to control so might need to use 2 stamps.· The other application I would like to pursue given time is a rolling robot that would·roam about the house.· If I go this route, I would like the flexiblity to add functions over time.

I am an engineer but the only programming I have done since college (20+ years ago) has been a little in C and more extensively in LabVIEW (high level graphical programming language for instrumentation - now used in the new version of Lego Mindstorms).· I read a review in Robot magazine that said debugging programs with the stamp is a lot easier because the debugger is much more user friendly.· I have gone back and forth a bit trying to decide to go with the stamp as it seems easier to use or go with the propeller and enjoy the challenge and hopefully not be getting in over my head.··· Any advice will be welcomed.· Thanks!

Dave Adams

Comments

• deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2008-03-07 17:33
    Dave, this is a very personal view. Also: It changes from time to time.
    I had some feedback from a Basic Stamp user the other day. I myself have no hands-on experience with the stamp... I could never imagine to buy something like that...
    I am a programmer. The Basic Stamp is for non-programmers.

That's one difference.

During the last dozen years an impressive set of building blocks of StampBasic modules, hardware modules, educational labs has piled up. It all fits! You have to be a perfect idiot to mess it!