Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
program that sends remote control signal to another application? — Parallax Forums

program that sends remote control signal to another application?

tascencaotascencao Posts: 11
edited 2006-04-22 01:41 in BASIC Stamp
hi there,

i'm really new to all this and am mostly working in another program called MaxMSP to create an interactive video installation. I'm trying to save a bit of time (only to come back later and understand further develop) with Basic Stamp programming.

Does anyone have a program which sends an output message based from a Sony TV remote control ? I need to press buttons 1-9 on the remote to be interpreted by another program.

Much thanks in advance!

Comments

• A.C. fishingA.C. fishing Posts: 262
    edited 2006-04-21 20:09
    I don't understand what you want. I don't understand how a program sends an output. I don't think you need this. A good IR receiver can pick up different frequencies. Explain more... Do you want something that will do something when you press a button on a remote?
    Well, I think remotes generate different IR frequencies when different buttons are pressed.
    So get some wires, 220 resistors, 2k resistors, a IR receiver from Radio Shack, a BS2, and a BOE, and a serial cable/ usb cable. I don't really understand what you need. If you want to display graphics on a TV, then maybe a propellor.
    I think you are trying to make this, but correct me if i'm wrong.
    You hit a button from 1-10 on a remote.
    It sends out an IR frequency, and a receiver connected to a BS2 gets it, determines the frequency, and depending on the frequency, sends information up a serial/USB cable so your MAXMSP can interpret it. Make sure your MAXMSP can read serial input.
    Please tell more for further instructions,
    ACfishing
  • tascencaotascencao Posts: 11
    edited 2006-04-21 20:24
    Hi ACfishing,