Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Programming A BS2 — Parallax Forums

Programming A BS2

SolenoidSolenoid Posts: 2
edited 2005-09-28 14:51 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi Guys,

I am a novice to microcontrollers and electronics in general. I do have lots of experience in software though. I·have·downloaded the BS2 manual and FAQ and given them a cursory go through. The·"What is a microcontroller" section deals in examples where one uses the PBASIC editor to program the ·BS2. One can view DEBUG output from the BS2 in the editor too. I was wondering whether there is a way to program the BS2 to recieve instructions and send output to and from a JAVA program instead of the editor.

Please enlighten me rolleyes.gif

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2005-09-25 13:56
    Solenoid -

Since I drink Java, and don't use it for programming, I can't help you directly there. However, you can easily establish an asynchronous serial link (RS-232) with a Stamp very easily using the SERIN and SEROUT commands. See the PBASIC Manual or the PBASIC Help File for more information.

Just make sure you use the appropriate (common) BaudMode (aka baud rate, parity, inverted / non-inverted, etc) parameters as you may choose to specify (however it's done) in your Java program. The rest is pretty much a 2 or 3-wire connection (depending more on Java than the Stamp). Also be aware that the Stamp is only capable of half-duplex communication, which is usually not a barrrier to communication.

Regards,

Bruce Bates
  • ForrestForrest Posts: 1,341
    edited 2005-09-25 14:08
    You can only program the BS2 (and all the other BASIC Stamps) in BASIC. If you want to program in Java - you should get a Java Stamp www.parallax.com/javelin/index.asp
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-09-27 16:49