Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to use Boe-bot to perform maze-solving? — Parallax Forums

How to use Boe-bot to perform maze-solving?

Jay2111Jay2111 Posts: 2
edited 2005-07-25 23:16 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi, Andy,

I am a engineering student from Calpoly, SLO.
I am currently working on using a boe-bot for maze-solving. Currently, I have installed
a qti line-reader, and I have configured its basic movements(going straight, left, right turns, etc).
However, I am not quite sure if you know of some interesting ways for it to navigate around a maze. I have done some preliminary research on MicroMouseinfo.com regarding to maze-solving algorithm, but it seems that some sort of distance measurement is neededto navigate the maze(implementing flood-fill algorithm, modified flood-fill algorithm)?

So, does it means that I need to add some additional stuff onto my boe-bot? My on-board wiring spaces is getting smaller and smaller. In summary, my questions are the following:

1) Do you have some hints on maze-navigation using just boe-bot and the qti line-reader.
2) If not, what other things can I try to make maze-navigation possible.

Thanks for your help.

Jay

Comments

• edited 2005-07-12 20:39
    Hello Jay,

If you are navigating a true micromouse maze, you can use the QTI line follower parts to read the top edge of the maze walls. For practice, electrical tape delimited courses will work well, but I recommend building the micromouse maze as soon as you can. It's important to test as much as possible in the real thing to get a better understanding of the various challenges of the actual course.