Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
stamp to midi connection — Parallax Forums

stamp to midi connection

Lars JepsenLars Jepsen Posts: 9
edited 2005-04-07 22:59 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi everybody,

I'm new to Basic Stamp and was wondering if someone could help me figure out how to connect the stamp to a midi keyboard.

I’ve followed the instructions mentioned in the nuts and volts tutorial by soldering a female 5-pin DIN socket to a cable with 220 Ohm resistors. I’ve tested the cable and everything seems to be fine. I’ve also downloaded Jon’s mystery song and modified the baud rate (60) to match my Stamp SX module connected to a Board of Education.I’ve connected the I/O cable to pin 15, the voltage to the VDD and the ground to the VSS. However, I’m still not receiving any music from my keyboard.

I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong and would appreciate if anyone has any advice on how to send output from the stamp to the midi.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Post Edited (Lars Jepsen) : 4/6/2005 7:21:24 PM GMT

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-04-06 14:29
    The new forum mantra seems to be: Post your code.· That should be followed with: Double- and triple-check your connections.

That said, the attached template may be helpful.· I use it for all my projects and as I have·bit of an interest in MIDI, I have included the correct values for the MIDI baud rate.· In my opinion, embedding numeric values (instead of named constants) into instructions like SEROUT et. al. is bad form and makes programs difficult to debug.

BTW: Since the contest is long over, the "mystery song" is the X-Files TV show theme.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas, TX· USA

Post Edited (Jon Williams) : 4/6/2005 2:35:46 PM GMT
  • steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-04-06 17:55
    Was there a contest?? Wasn't aware....

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·

Steve