Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Best Navigation for Robotics — Parallax Forums

Best Navigation for Robotics

Robot FanRobot Fan Posts: 6
edited 2005-02-13 21:23 in Robotics
Hello, I'm a beginner in robotics and am planning to build my own autonomus robot. I am kinda hung up on what to choose for a navigation system. Any ideas?

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-02-13 16:37
    Hi robotfan,

what are your intentions.
    What are you trying to navigate?

You need to ask the right questions before you get the right answers!!· whooo...that was deep! haha

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·

Steve
    http://members.rogers.com/steve.brady
    "Inside each and every one of us is our one, true authentic swing. Something we was born with. Something that's ours and ours alone. Something that can't be learned... something that's got to be remembered."
  • Robert SchwartzRobert Schwartz Posts: 141
    edited 2005-02-13 17:13
    By navigation do you mean get from point A to point B? You can use wheel encoders to see how far the robot has gone. GPS is another alterative, but alot more expensive and difficult to set up.
  • dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2005-02-13 17:17
    Hello,

Two of best solutions for navigation are the ultrasonic range finder and the infrared detection system.· Here are a couple of links for more information:

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28015

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28019

Dave

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Dave Andreae

Tech Support
    dandreae@parallax.com
    www.parallax.com

·
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-02-13 18:50
    Navigation is a very broad subject, it all depends on your requirements and budget. Here is an overview with some pros and cons, I make no claim of this list (or the pros and cons of each method) being exhaustive.

first off a few definitions: