Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Best Object Avoidance System? — Parallax Forums

Best Object Avoidance System?

Robot FanRobot Fan Posts: 6
edited 2005-02-13 19:17 in Robotics
Hi, I'm a beginner Robotist and am hung up on what object avoidance system to use. Any suggestions?

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-02-13 16:39
    robotfan, try to avoid cross-posting.

Your question about navigation systems pretty much falls in to the question about avoidance systems.

You can't navigate without avoiding obstacles....otherwise it's like you've come home drunk and can't find the light switch....a lot of stumbling and bumping in to things!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·

Steve
    http://members.rogers.com/steve.brady
    "Inside each and every one of us is our one, true authentic swing. Something we was born with. Something that's ours and ours alone. Something that can't be learned... something that's got to be remembered."
  • Robert SchwartzRobert Schwartz Posts: 141
    edited 2005-02-13 17:10
    If you are new, you may want to try the Sharp GP2D15. It is really easy to set up and use. You are also going to want to have a "bumper" or similar device just in case you ranged detectors miss something.
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-02-13 19:09
    Ok heres a similar list of various methods, the same disclaimer applies as with the navigational systems.

Bumper/contact switch: cheapest, provides no distance to object information (other than zero distance), can miss low objects.