Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Servo shake — Parallax Forums

Servo shake

Earl FosterEarl Foster Posts: 185
edited 2005-02-03 20:36 in Robotics
I have starting working on my hexcrawler and I noticed that after running the HexCrawler Legs Version 1.1 by Parallax that all my servos shake.· There are no centering pins on these servos.· I think if I made the servos go low that will resolve problem but I don't understand the PSC yet.· Any suggestions?

Comments

• Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-01-11 18:28
    don't have experience w/ servos in almost a decade but i noticed a similarity w/ Dave's response is this post: http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=521901·perhaps this whats going on.
  • Earl FosterEarl Foster Posts: 185
    edited 2005-01-11 20:34
    Thanks for the reply. I did look over those threads but this is the case. I believe it is the PSC that is still sending a pulse to the servos. Since this is my first time using the PSC I am not sure how to put the PSC is a low state and I haven't really found good documentation. I guess I could try to put the whole PSC in a low state. Hmmmmm I will try that approach.
  • dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2005-01-15 00:32
    Depending on the servos that you use, the power supply that you use can make them jitter.· If you are using a 7.2v battery to power your PSC (Parallax Servo Controller), this can cause certain servos to jitter.· The closer you get to 5v the less jitter you should see.· Depending on firmware version of the PSC, the latest version 1.4 has been designed to reduce the jittering effect.· There is a PSC version code that will tell you what version you have.

Dave

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Dave Andreae

Tech Support
    dandreae@parallax.com
    www.parallax.com

·
    edited 2005-01-18 15:25
    Thanks Dave - so what you are telling me is that I have a $700.00 shaking robot from Parallax. Can't wait to tell my friends about that one!