Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Which stamp? — Parallax Forums

Which stamp?

PyroWorxPyroWorx Posts: 1
edited 2005-01-23 18:59 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I'm a 1st year electronics student and I would like to start using microcontrollers for my projects.
I have no previous experience in programming, although we do learn basic Java-programming in class.

Which of the stamp modules is the easiest to start off with?
I know there is a lot of code already written for various Basic stamp projects, but at school I get tought Java.
Which is easier to start off with, java or basic?

I'm particularly interested in interfacing the CM8880 DTMF tranceiver chip with a stamp module.

Thanks,

-Magnus-
Norway
confused.gif

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-01-02 21:01
    Magnus,

Our must popular product is the BS2 -- we've sold millions. That said, we do make a Java-compatible version called the Javelin. It's not as popular as our BASIC Stamp family, but we do have devoted users doing really cool things with them. No matter what controller you select, get your electronics skills sharpened too; using microcontrollers involves programming AND circuit interfacing. Lots of experienced programmers do damage to their Stamp modules because they don't understand the circuits connected to them.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas, TX· USA
  • steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-01-02 23:23
    And lots of electronics guys hook up the circuit and end up staring at the stamp expecting it to do the rest on its own!

Luckily, Parallax chose a form of Basic for the programming language so that a big lug like me can figure some of it out!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·

Steve
    http://members.rogers.com/steve.brady
    http://www.geocities.com/paulsopenstage