·I have been learing to use the BS2 for some time now on my ou and tring
a project that i need to turn some hobby motors on and off and· not shore
how what to use the motors run on 3v and draw up to .500

thanks
David

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-01-02 21:27
    You can use a MOSFET to switch the motor for you.· Have a look at the attached schematic.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas, TX· USA
    400 x 527 - 11K
  • MacGeek117MacGeek117 Posts: 747
    edited 2005-01-03 18:30
    Or you can use a H-bridge if you want forward/backward control.

look for the L293 dual motor driver chip. -bugg
  • David W.David W. Posts: 6
    edited 2005-01-10 23:43
    Hi, my name is David Warren and I am a machinist by trade and I don't work with electronics very often. So I apoligize if some of my questions seem a little strange or repetitive. I have a good basic understanding of electronics and I can follow most scematics however some components I am not totally familar with. I got into Basic stamps thourgh my brother when he gave me a bs2 to try to use to control a halloween prop. So now to my question In a previous posting I asked about turning a hobby motor on or off, this is all I need to do I do not need any direction control and one of the replys I was told I could use a Mosfet transistor. The one that I have is from Radio shack it is an n channel and on the back the maximum ratings are VDSS=100v, VGS=+ or - 20v, with an IP = 4A, the part number is a Radio shack 276-2072 and the packaging says IRF510 power Mosfet transistor. I was wondering if· this would work, the motor as I previously stated uses 3 volts and draws .500A. The Diagram on the package does not show a diode as in the scematic attached to one of the postings from Jon Williams. Or is there a better Mosfet that I should be using? I certainly apologize for the rambling. Thank you for any assistance that you can give to a no