Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Controling a servo with IR — Parallax Forums

Controling a servo with IR

bradfordbradford Posts: 4
edited 2004-11-29 02:27 in Robotics
I hope someone can help with this?
·
I have a board of education board with one (the right side) IR detector attached and one servo connected to socket twelve.
·
What I need to have happen is when the IR detector senses an object within 2 feet I need the servo to turn right about ten degrees from center and then pause for 10 seconds the rotate left 10 degrees from center again. Then after two seconds I need to have the servo go back to center and stay there until the IR detector senses an object again and then it repeats the above.
·
I am completely new at trying to write programs for the board so I would deeply appreciate any help.
·
Sincerely,
·
Steven Bradford

Comments

• edited 2004-11-28 20:39
    There are a whole bunch of similar servo examples that you can experiment with in What's a Microcontroller, Chapter 4.· It's available for free download from www.parallax.com -> Downloads -> BASIC Stamp Tutorials.·
    ·
    I'm not sure what kind of IR detector you are using.· In the meantime, I would also recommend experimenting with the pushbutton examples in Chapter 3.· The pushbuttons can be used to iron out the servo behavior.· The IR object detection code can be ironed out separately.· Then, you can replace the pushbutton circuit and code with the IR circuit and code.·
    ·
    Also, take a quick look at Chapter 2 while you're in the book; it'll help complete the picture.·
    ·