Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Oh dear... I may be in over my head. — Parallax Forums

Oh dear... I may be in over my head.

Tim M.Tim M. Posts: 26
edited 2004-10-30 22:05 in Robotics
Well, I may be in over my head when it comes time for the coding, to say the least...· I recently purchased an Epilog Laser Cutter/Engraver to work with Lexan.· I've been working on a robot chassis design in a CAD program for about 6 months, and I finally got build it out of Lexan.· I knew what all electronics i wanted to use, so I went ahead and bought them too.· I'm just now getting everything hooked up, and it dawned on me that i'm in trouble...· I'm no master programmer like some of you guys on here are, I'm just good at designing.· I can program the BS2, but I think my project may be a little too advanced for me.
Here's some of the parts that I'm using, and some goals that I would like to accomplish.· I would appreciate your input on as to whether a novice/intermediate programmer, such as myself, could tackle this project.
I'm using a BS2, and a BS2 carrier board
2x SRF08 Ultrasonic sensors mounted on servo turrets at the front of the bot
4x servos for driving.· skid steer.
Pololu 8 serial servo controller
1x servo with a wireless video cam on it, just so i can see what it sees.
7 servos total.

Here's what i would like it to do.· Drive around not running into anything, and if it comes to something such as a doorway, to navigate itself through the middle of the doorway.· Choose the best path around an object.
Now at first, all that sounded simple to me, but then it hit me.· There's gonna be SOOO many variables, especially since the sensors are mounted on turrets that can rotate and check in different directions.
Am I right about this?· I'm having doubts as to whether I can finish this, though i would really like to.· Are my choice in parts a good combination to resolve my goals?· I appreciate any feedback you guys may have on this.
Thanks a lot
-Tim

Comments