Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is there a "Migration Guide" for PASM1 --> PASM2? — Parallax Forums

Is there a "Migration Guide" for PASM1 --> PASM2?

Hi there,

I'm new to the P2 but I'm familiar with PASM1 and I'd like to continue by learning PASM2 in the same way on the new chip.

Is there such a thing as a tutorial that discusses the differences (syntax and such) between PASM1 and PASM2? Perhaps with some worked examples of translating very basic PASM1 programs into PASM2, or perhaps a generic PASM2 boilerplate code file?

I used to have a 10-line PASM1 boilerplate that had the bare minimum PASM1 code to start up a cog running PASM1 code and also setting up the clock PLL and blinking a led etc. with minimal SPIN code. It'd be good to have something like that again for P2, it made things so much easier.

Comments

• The main differences are:

• the instructions are different (duh). Even some that have the same name as a P1 instruction may behave differently.
    • local labels look like .foobar instead of :foobar
    • use wcz instead of wc,wz
    • There's no nr and wr
    • You can switch between assembling for hubexec mode or cogexec mode using orgh or org, respectively
    • You can use double hashes to assemble a long immediate. Note that this inserts a hidden AUGS/AUGD instruction and thus is to be avoided in performance-critical code

A nice thing about the P2 is that it doesn't need a spin stub. A basic pin toggling program looks like this:

CON
    _CLKFREQ = 100_000_000
    DAT
            org
            asmclk ' macro to setup clock
            rep @.loop,#0 ' infinite loop
            drvnot #56
            waitx ##20_000_000
    .loop

Someone wrote a thing about converting existing PASM1 to PASM2, I think it's linked in one of the sticky posts.

• Thanks for the example code, the Prop Tool seems to demand a "PUB routine" though.

This is the kind of thing that isn't obvious to new users. And it's hard to find answers in the docs.