Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can you give comments on my PCB layout? :) — Parallax Forums

Can you give comments on my PCB layout? :)

Hi, I am new to PCB design, so could you please give some comments on my first PCB layout? The circuit is for a charging controller using MCP73831 IC.
Note that the part getting out of boundaries is for a USB port, so it can have a small part out of the chip. You can give comment on anything nevertheless!
I tried to follow the best practices for a PCB to be manufactured (No specific manufacturer) .

Thanks in advance :blush:

Comments

• Your layout is workable, but I would consider the following changes that would reduce traces lengths:

1. Rotate M1 90 degrees counter-clockwise and move it slightly to allow more straight traces with the other components.
    2. Rotate C1, C2 90 degrees clockwise, this would eliminate some of the extra trace branches that you have.

In my PCB experiences, shorter straighter traces are desirable.

I would include a ground plane on the PCB. I assuming C1, C2 are electrolytic capacitors, if so please add the appropriate '+' symbols.

I didn't verify that the layout is accurate electrically, hopefully it is...

Keep up the good work.

• Get rid of those T intersections!

Connect J1 to C1 and from there to M1 and C2, then from C2 to R2. Then M1 directly to C2, then to R1.

And I agree about the ground plane.

-Phil

• Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
    edited 2021-02-06 07:47

That layout doesn't make any sense, the only connection I can see is to the ground and VBUS of the USB connector, and why would you ever need huge ecaps? If it is a charger then it must handle current and this should also be reflected in the tracks which look like they would burn out or drop too much voltage with too much current etc.

A PCB layout must have a schematic which you would always post with any pcb layout you are seeking critique for