Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stepper motor driver and demo program for the P2 — Parallax Forums

Stepper motor driver and demo program for the P2

This is my first attempt at a P2 assembly program. Please don't laugh to hard...Any suggestion are appreciated.

Comments

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,918
    edited 2021-01-12 00:05
    There are instructions that let you drive pins which takes the headache out of OUTA and OUTB assignments.
                  decod     steppin                       'make masks for output pins
                  decod     dirpin
                  or        dira, steppin                 'make step and dir pins outputs
                  or        dira, dirpin

...becomes
                  drvl      steppin
                  drvl      dirpin

Now there is no worry vis-a-vis special handling for any IO. Of course, you'd use this strategy to make pulses, too.
    _dostep1      drvh      steppin                         ' step pin high
                  getct     cv
                  addct1    cv,delayh                       ' start the pulse high timer

testb     mode, #4     wc                 ' check the direction bit
                  sumc      cpos, #1                        ' add/subtract from current position
                  wrlong    cpos, ptra[0]                   ' update current position

waitct1
                  drvl      steppin                         ' step pulse end

• Thanks Jon
    That's simpler and more intuitive. I'm still trying to decipher that spreadsheet of instructions.
    I appreciate all the code you have posted over the years. Felt it was my turn to try and give something back.
  • JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,918
    edited 2021-01-12 00:55
    Assembly is not my normal thing, but Propeller assembly is so friendly I find myself studying the spread sheet trying to understand the instructions. There are many that save a lot of code. For example, in my P1 pixel driver, I have this bit of code.