Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Airdrome — Parallax Forums

Airdrome

emiljtemiljt Posts: 45
edited 2020-11-22 22:55 in General Discussion
Airdrome
Some time ago I started to see a number of posts about replacing the functionality of the old Obex website. A lot of people were complaining about how difficult git was to use or how they didn't want to learn a new system just to get an object for their project. As a web developer, I decided it would be a fun project to take on, as well as a good way to give back to the Parallax community.

It's taken months of free time (really not that much time in total, but I only get free time so often, so things progressed slowly), but I'm happy to announce that today (Nevada Day!) I've deployed the first beta version of Airdrome. This is a very beta version and will probably experience a lot of downtime as I get the infrastructure all dialed in. Things will stabilize quickly though. I'm not a big fan of using web forums for project updates, but I don't have a better option at the moment, so for the time being, I'll keep this post up to date with how things are going.

First off, I want to make it clean that this website isn't meant to replace the Parallax Obex repository or even compete with it; it's meant to compliment it. I'm not looking to divide the community or subvert Parallax's ability to control the object exchange. The site uses git to pull data from, and stay in sync with, the official Parallax Obex. Parallax has a lot on their hands right now with the P2, so my hope was to be helpful to them and the community.

Current status:
- Very beta, some would even say...alpha. You should be able to reach a working website more consistently now though. The infrastructure now contains a real, managed DB, and Docker containers that make horizontal scaling very easy, and deploys are now automated.