Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Question on P2 breadboard work — Parallax Forums

Question on P2 breadboard work

Hi,

I am a hobbyist and trying to build a minimal P2 breadboard setup. As shown in the attached picture, all the TQFP-100 pins have been soldered, and I drilled a hole on the bottom plane so that I can solder a wire to the ground pad later. Now to complete the rest with minimum wiring effort, I was wondering if I could:
(1) Use only the internal RC clock source,
(2) Supply VDD 1.8V to physical pin 2 (P0~P3) and pin 94 (P60~P63), and 3.3V to VIO_0_3 and VIO_60_63 only without bypass capacitors
(3) Connect TX/RX (P62~P63) to Prop Plug

If I program (without SPI flash) that uses only in range P0 to P3, would that work?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2020-11-01 03:42
    Don't like your chances :(

Sorry, it's a bit harsh. But there is just too much wrong with this to comment further.
  • @Cluso99
    Okay. I must have got it all wrong. Thanks for your comment though, otherwise I wouldn't even know about that.
  • jmgjmg Posts: 15,145
    ... only without bypass capacitors....
    Ouch,
    You really are best to get one of the pre-assembled P2 boards. eg p2 Edge.

Hi,
    (2) Supply VDD 1.8V to physical pin 2 (P0~P3) and pin 94 (P60~P63), and 3.3V to VIO_0_3 and VIO_60_63 only without bypass capacitors
    You need to also connect TEST and RESN pins, and the VDD pins are commoned, but the 3v3 VIO pins are not. So you do need to also connect the PLL/OSC (IIRC V2831)
    The VIO and VDD pins should be decoupled, with shortest lead lengths.
    On your breakout, you might be ok with as many VDD pins as you can physically get access to on the rear side, all decoupled with SMD caps.
    A local 1V8 regulator would be safer and a local 3v3 regulator would also be recommended.

• Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
    edited 2020-11-01 05:47