Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Parallax-ESP Module Latest Hack - Page 6 — Parallax Forums

Parallax-ESP Module Latest Hack

Comments

• It looks like the version number is derived from the most recent git tag. That is current "v1.0". I'll have to check with Parallax to see how they want to change that for this new version. Maybe it should at least go to "v1.1 beta" or something like that.

I don't know why older versions won't build. Doesn't git restore old submodules when it checks out an older version of a repository? I'm not a git expert so I'm not sure how this is normally done.
  • Clock LoopClock Loop Posts: 2,069
    edited 2020-09-07 20:29
    David Betz wrote: »

I don't know why older versions won't build. Doesn't git restore old submodules when it checks out an older version of a repository? I'm not a git expert so I'm not sure how this is normally done.

I found that this is the process to go to a previous commit.

Do a git reset --hard <hash-or-ref>' and then git submodule init and git submodule update, then compile.
    Just don't use that on anything you plant to commit.

I don't login to my git account when doing this kind of stuff. No way to mess the repo then.

Using 'checkout' didn't work for me.

It looks like the version number is derived from the most recent git tag. That is current "v1.0". I'll have to check with Parallax to see how they want to change that for this new version. Maybe it should at least go to "v1.1 beta" or something like that.

Cool. (I THINK I did find that the versioning is in the main folder Makefile.) :)
    I dunno I have to try it.

I can at least change it for myself so I am not confused what version im running, since I am compiling a few different commits on the same day, for all this testing.
    # 1. Tag the master with: git tag -a v1.1 then enter an annotation message (it's like a commit message)
    # 2. The above snippet used v1.1 as example..... change that v number to whatever you need!