Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What's your go-to for sanity during COVID-19 times? — Parallax Forums

What's your go-to for sanity during COVID-19 times?

For me it's bicycling and kayaking. No sailing, though, since it's impossible to socially distance on the boat I share with partners (26' T-bird), and I'm not up to soloing it. For entertainment, I've been reading Hemingway short stories outdoors after dinner, then sinking to old "Perry Mason" or "Beverly Hillbillies" episodes before bedtime. Ah, the golden years of TV! :)

And then there's this with my morning coffee:

https://www.nytimes.com/puzzles/spelling-bee

Curse me now; thank me later! (Or vice-versa.)

-Phil

Comments

• For me its the time I am spending building-out and puttering around in the Nerds Nest. My day job is mostly shuttered now so I have the rare luxury of idle time and I’m really enjoying it. It wont last, but for the moment its nice.

Another big fun is messing with the horses. I’ve got a Suffolk Punch mare that stands 16/3 hands and is 1850 lbs. She has feet the size of a dinner plate. She is very gentle with people. (With other horses... not so much). When she comes thundering up the ground literally moves. Her grand entrances at meal times never get old!

The last sanity-keeper is beekeeping. If you havent tried it, it is highly recommended, and you can easily do this in the city too. Hives are a fascinating system that must be seen to be believed. My hives are mostly wild-caughts so they are quite “hot” (Africanized) so full PPE is a requirement, but this diminishes the fun not one bit. Watching the ebb and flow of the hives connects you in a different way to the surrounding environment. The pollens and nectars being collected change constantly... even differing from sunrise to sunset.

COVID sure hasnt been a picnic, but there are silver linings to most clouds if you take the time to look for them.