Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
OBEX on GitHub — Parallax Forums

OBEX on GitHub

RaymanRayman Posts: 13,859
edited 2020-04-17 15:34 in Propeller 2
I think OBEX is moved to GitHub, right?

https://github.com/parallaxinc/propeller/tree/master/libraries

Seems there's an "official" folder and a "community" folder.
Also a P1 and P2 folder.
Appears that anybody can create new folders in community and put code there...

Might be a good place for P2 version of FemtoBasic...

Comments

• It looks like the various versions of FemtoBasic for P1 are all there. The P2 community folder looks like the appropriate place for FemtoBasic for P2 once it's a bit further along.
  • I've already used GIT but I'm new to GITHUB. I've just read this guide of how to contribute. Is it really necessary to pull the complete repository or is it possible to create subfolders? OK, at the moment the whole propeller tree is empty except for the readme files so it should be no problem. But as the archive grows having to handle it as a whole bundle might slow things down considerably...
  • You pull the hole repository and then you make changes by adding your project to the repository.

Then you push your changes back and create a pull request which just merges your changes back into the repository even if someone else has made other changes to the repository while you were working on your changes. Even though it looks like you pushing the hole repository your are only pushing your changes.

Mike
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 13,859
    Really? You do the whole repository? Interesting... I wouldn't have thought it worked that way...
  • There are some tricks to pull less (e.g. look for `git clone --depth=1`) but storage is no topic today and on later pulls you only fetch the differences, so it'll be fast. If bandwidth is a problem, make a backup of fresh clones before playing too aggressively with it.

Git folklore: https://xkcd.com/1597
  • Roy Eltham wrote: »