Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help explain analog temperature block code — Parallax Forums

Need help explain analog temperature block code

Hi,

I have no experience for any programming. I try to run a simple block code for my analog sensor temperature Arduino KY-013 on Parallax board. I keep getting zero value on the graph of my block program. Can someone explain how this block code "A/D Channel A0 read (0-5V) in volt-100ths" means and how to get the temperature value. Thank you.

My block code is exactly like this youtube video "Tiny Tutorials: Graphing a Single Channel in BlocklyProp" the difference is only the sensor.

Comments

• Welcome to the world of BlocklyProp.

In order to help you, I have a few questions:

Which Parallax board are you using?
    There are 3 connections to the KY-013 module, where did you connect these 3 connections?
    If you indeed are getting only 0's, it sounds like the KY-013 may not be powered-up or is connected wrong. If you remove the connection from the A/D A0 port, you should see a floating voltage value returned by the A/D, if you don't then?

The BlocklyProp project code in the Video is using the Propeller Activity Board, if you are using a different board, did you select the correct board when you started your BlocklyProp project?

The BlocklyProp project needs to match the board you are using in order to know where the A/D hardware is connected (or even available).

In order to turn the voltage measurement the A/D hardware will get from the KY-013 module into a temperature value, you will need do some math calculations. This link goes the module's web page, which contains a C code example with some information on the math involved. Of course this may not help you too much since you say you don't have much programming experience.

I hope this helps...
  • On the back of the board it writes "Propeller Board of Education 32900" .