Any Heathkit Fans Out There? - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

Any Heathkit Fans Out There?

2»

Comments

• David BetzDavid Betz Posts: 14,511
    edited 2020-04-13 17:44
    DigitalBob wrote: »
    I see a few of those EC-1 tube computers on Ebay
    I looked at those in the Heathkit catalog when they were still being sold but never really wanted one. I'm a programmer so I need a computer that has enough memory to write a significant program. That's why the ET-3400 didn't work out for me, I think there was a memory expansion available for it but even that only brought it up to 1K as I recall.

• David Betz wrote: »
    I looked at those in the Heathkit catalog when they were still being sold but never really wanted one. I'm a programmer so I need a computer that has enough memory to write a significant program. That's why the ET-3400 didn't work out for me, I think there was a memory expansion available for it but even that only brought it up to 1K as I recall.

I did 32K of static RAM expansion on my ET-3400 with battery backup.
  • Publison wrote: »
    David Betz wrote: »

Nice! Did you make a kit that I can buy from you to expand mine? :smile:

• Would anyone be interested in a free* oscilloscope calibrator, model 4505? calibrator & power cord only, no manuals or cables.

I didn't build it, but it seems to work fine. I don't have a use for it.

These seem to be going for $40 or more on ebay. I'd rather it go to someone on these forums instead.

*Just pay shipping...
    Publison wrote: »

Nice! Did you make a kit that I can buy from you to expand mine? :smile:

I used a 30- ns cache chip that was for a 486 mother board. I can't put my finger on it. just closed on my house and every thing is in boxes in storage.