Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie and needs Help for Project Design. — Parallax Forums

Newbie and needs Help for Project Design.

edizonblueedizonblue Posts: 3
edited 2014-09-24 20:25 in General Discussion
Hi guys. Good day. I am a newbie here and currently on my thesis on project design. I would like to ask any recommendations from you if i could integrate PING ULTRASONIC SENSOR into my project. So here my project goes

- It is a vibrating cane stick guide for the blind.. It uses ultrasonic sensors for object detection (I will be using PING for it), and it has vibration motor in its handle and a wireless bluetooth headset.

What specifically is the real time response in seconds for the PING ULTRASONIC SENSOR as it detects object?

How can I incorporate the PING with the bluetooth headset for the audio instruction. Will I be using ARDUINO nano? or MICRO CONTROLLER? ? (I have doubts on this.)

Is this project feasible? ?

thank u so much guys. if you want to help me please reach me at my email

edison.dignos13@gmail.com

I owe you a lot. Thank you so much

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2014-09-09 22:15
    Look at the timing diagram in the PING documentation. Once you trigger the PING, it can take up to just under 20ms for the ultrasonic pulse to go out 3m, hit an object, and return 3m (maximum range). That determines the worst case response time.

What do you want the Bluetooth headset to do? The Emic 2 Text-to-Speech module could be used to talk over Bluetooth. SparkFun sells a Bluetooth audio module that could be connected to the EMic2. A vibration motor could be turned on under whatever circumstances you define. You will need some kind of relatively high power switch for this (a simple transistor will do). Look at the Nuts and Volts column #6 for a discussion of this.