Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to start — Parallax Forums

How to start

Although I have quite a lot of experience with the P1 I'm totally new to the P2 and I haven't followed all the discussions here. So I'm trying to gather as much information as possible to be able to play a little bit and hopefully start my first P2 project, soon. Sorry for starting a new thread with questions that have surely been asked before many times. But all the answers are hard to find and scattered around the forum. And hopefully others find it also useful to collect them here.

I've already found the data sheet: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1gn6oaT5Ib7CytvlZHacmrSbVBJsD9t_-kmvjd7nUR6o/edit?usp=sharing

Is there a "minimum example schematic" somewhere? I mean, what is the minimum configuration (absolutely required external parts) to run the P2? crystal, voltage regulator, flash ROM, download/debug connector?

I've seen Parallax sells engineering samples
https://www.parallax.com/product/p2x8c4m64p-es-4
but I've found no Eval board. Is this one the only one available, right now?
http://forums.parallax.com/discussion/170695/p2d2-with-p2-revb-taking-orders/p8
It's no problem for me to make my own boards. It would just speed up getting the first prototype a bit.

What software do I need if I'd like to start with Spin, Assembler and C programming? I'm focussed on embedded realtime applications so I currently don't need an OS, video, filesystem etc.

In a realtime system a single step debugger is not of much use. On the P1 I used a simulator so I was at least able to test complicated math code in assembler. Debugging on the live system was done by sending prints or binary data over COM port to some scope software I've written by myself on the PC. I've heared the P2 has some hardware debugging features. Is that already supported?