Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
system function call — Parallax Forums

system function call

Hello all.

First off, I'm not a developer. Now that I got that out of the way, below is my issue.

So I have a small C program that list directory contents. If I run that from the CMD, it works fine and does what it supposed to do.

C:\...>ListDirectoryExe
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is E4A9-F680

Directory of ...

12/29/2019 12:13 PM <DIR> .
12/29/2019 12:13 PM <DIR> ..
12/29/2019 12:10 PM 38,912 ListDirectoryExe.exe
9 File(s) 1,465,670 bytes
3 Dir(s) 385,429,344,256 bytes free

Here's my code calling ListDirectoryExe:

#include "simpletools.h"
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
system("ListDirectoryExe")
}

When I run Build, it fails on the following:

In function `_main':
(.text+0x6): undefined reference to `_system'

Am I using system() correctly or am I missing to declare or define something? Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• AwesomeCronkAwesomeCronk Posts: 1,055
    edited 2019-12-29 21:05
    Is this for the Parallax Propeller (1 or 2)? Or for Windows? What are you trying to do?

If you are running the c program from cmd, then Windows is executing it. If you are running it on the propeller, then the propeller cannot use system().
  • This is for Prop1 and the idea of the simple c program was to see if i can call external programs from within propeller. The result or output was not meant to be processed or redirected back into propeller for postprocessing. I was thinking that if system() was allowed, then I could fork it and keep the propeller running.

I currently have two Prop Activiy Boards one with wifi which I programmed to help monitor and captured a ground mole; yes it works with the help of the wifi; when it got triggered, it sent me a http message to my iphone : )

I'm done with the mole thing and I've another idea which brought me to system().