Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
The basics — Parallax Forums

The basics

I'd venture that this question has been asked a million times, but ...

I am totally new to this and pretty much a gome when it comes to electronics and programing, etc. I'm an artist and I'd like to explore making my art more dynamic - for example, have curtains raise and lower, lights come on and off, have certain parts of a piece move ...

Where would be a good place to start: with basic parts or kits, any software or apps I need, where to get the basic instructons, any other tips ... etc. etc.

Any help will be appreciated. Regards, David

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2019-07-16 21:14
    My wife is an artist and has also had an interest in making her art interactive and dynamic. She works in ceramics and cast metal among other things. Originally, I used Basic Stamps for controlling servos for movement as well as a variety of video text display generators. Nowadays, the Propeller can do all of these things.

I would get either the BlocklyProp Starter Kit or the Propeller FLIP Try-It & Invention Kit. Either kit will refer you the <learn.parallax.com> website where you will find links to all sorts of software and on-line materials. The store webpage for any Parallax product usually has links as well (see Downloads button).

BlocklyProp is a great on-line graphical programming tool for either and most of Parallax's educational curriculum is based on that.
  • freedda,

The Basic Stamp Activity Kit may be a good way to get your feet wet if you have never programmed or used electronics.
    https://www.parallax.com/product/90005
    What's a Microcontroller will walk you through basic electronics and programming.

The Basic Stamp can do simple things which may be all you need but the Propeller is a lot more capable.

Hopefully JonnyMac will chime in since he is always doing some kind of 'art' project.