Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
XMM with 512K RAM — Parallax Forums

XMM with 512K RAM

This discussion was created from comments split from: Board type / Memory model.

Comments

• skywest wrote: »
    Hi,
    I'm new to the Propeller 1 since I got it, really like it.
    At present I have just been compiling (simple ide) and downloading to the chip so far, but now I want to compile and load to external eeprom so that the
    program runs at power on.
    I am just using the chip on a breadboard with a 24LC256 wired as per the manual and 5 mhz xtal as I like to add my own choice of peripherals such as adc etc.
    As 'just the chip' is not an option in the simple ide board selection box, what should I best select for my set up?
    Also how do I get it to download the external eeprom as there seems to be no option to specify this either, or at any rate - I'm missing it!

Any pointers appreciated.
    I think you can choose any board type as long as you're not trying to use the XMM memory model.

• @"David Betz" ,

Since you mentioned the forbidden subject, XMM, how do I configure PropGCC to use my external 512KB SRAM?

With Catalina there's an API file you can edit. Just drop in your Assembly Code to perform the functions listed and you're good to go.

I would like to do the same with PropGCC so my code can run from XMM.

How can I do this under PropGCC?

Is there a PropGCC API file I can edit as well?
  • It depends on whether you're going to use the PropGCC that comes with SimpleIDE or the one from the main branch of the PropGCC repository.
  • David Betz wrote: »
    It depends on whether you're going to use the PropGCC that comes with SimpleIDE or the one from the main branch of the PropGCC repository.

Well I think you mentioned the one in the Repository supports running XMM C code in multiple cogs, so that's the one I would go with.

So how can we make this happen?
  • David Betz wrote: »