Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LS7366R encoder counter issues — Parallax Forums

LS7366R encoder counter issues

T ChapT Chap Posts: 4,198
edited 2019-05-04 13:56 in General Discussion
I have been incorporating this device LS7366R into my designs for a few months to count an encoder external of the Prop so that that counter can stay alive for several days on a battery if the power is lost. This avoids rehoming systems on power outages. There is a 12 battery that goes to the LS 7366R board. The board has a 2amp 5v switching reg. The regulator is a solid design I’ve used forever. The Prop drives a BLDC motor driver and reads the counter via SPI to know where the motor is. The part is in use in a lot of designs and is sold by many large automation companies including USDigital which is where i get the encoder. The counter connects via i shielded Cat5 10’ to the encoder located right off the motor shaft.

I have mysteriously had about 4-5 die over the part months on my bench. I attributed one to hot swapping the SPI connection to the Prop. If there were a serious spike I’d think the Prop would die too.

Yesterday I had someone out at site updating software for the Prop and accidentally left some test code in from my bench mock-up. This allow the motor to overshoot and hit s hard stop and stalled out the system with errors. After the error we corrected the code and ran the motor. The counter then had a cumulative error per cycle. There is no possibility of mechanical slip. The encoder is shaft mounted. In testing we spun the motor 4 revs positive and got 7200 approx. Then reverse to the starting point and end up at 70! Repeat the cycle and get 140. 210. 280 etc. accumulating 70 per 4 revs forward and backwards. Needless to say the system will crash after one cycle.