Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help Needed Using Propeller with micro-SD Card Adapter — Parallax Forums

Help Needed Using Propeller with micro-SD Card Adapter

Juliet Oscar EchoJuliet Oscar Echo Posts: 31
edited 2011-09-16 08:02 in General Discussion
New to the forum and this is my first post. I have limited programming experience and need help. My first introduction to programming was the BS2 a few years ago, then a year ago I decided to try my hands at the Propeller.

I'm trying to build an application that saves sensor data to an micro-SD card using the Gadget Gangster Propeller Platform USB with built in micro-SD Card Adapter. Currently I'm using the fsrw object suggested by the product manual to create a comma delimited string that saves to the output.txt file opened on the SD card. The goal is to then import the .txt file to Microsoft Excel for analysis. The problem is the file is just one long string. Is there any way to modify fsrw so it writes a new line to the .txt file when you write a new set of updated sensor data? That way when I import the .txt file into excel it will automatically put it into rows and columns instead of one long row.

The goal is to go from this:

time,var1,var2,var3,var4,time,var1,var2,var3,var4,time,var1,var2,var3,var4,time,var1,var2,var3,var4,time,var1,var2,var3,var4,

to this:

time,var1,var2,var3,var4
time,var1,var2,var3,var4
time,var1,var2,var3,var4
time,var1,var2,var3,var4

The final goal is to fly the propeller with a pressure sensor (Parallax's VTI SCP1000 30-120 kPa Pressure Sensor module) on board a model rocket and retrieve the data for performance analysis.

Thanks

Comments

• kuronekokuroneko Posts: 3,623
    edited 2011-09-11 00:26
    Assuming you use pputs now to write your strings simply add a number of pputc calls to add your required line delimiter(s), e.g.
    pputc(13)      ' CR
      pputc(10)      ' LF

Or make it (delimiter) part of the payload string when you construct it.