Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Feedback 360 High speed Continuous servo Motor + Raspberry Pi 3 B+ — Parallax Forums

Feedback 360 High speed Continuous servo Motor + Raspberry Pi 3 B+

Hello all. I am new to using this servo. I want to understand somethings:

Firstly, could someone explain what the yellow female connector is for? This motor has the standard three wires(red, black and white). I don't know if the stand alone yellow wire is absolutely necessary for my project.

That being said, How would i make my motor rotate 30 degrees using it with the Raspberry Pi 3 B+ in python? I wrote a piece a code to make it rotate but i need it to rotate once. It should not continuously keep rotating. Any help would gladly be appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Hello !

I think you mean this product: Parallax Feedback 360° High Speed Servo

That has a yellow wire, which is feedback giving the current position of the motor. Saves having an external encoder, which would typically be used to enable better positional accuracy.

If you check the "Documents and Downloads" tab at the product page, you'll find full details about how it works:
    https://www.parallax.com/product/900-00360#downloads

In your code, you could take the input signal from that yellow wire, and use that to stop the servo when 30 degrees has been turned. You'll need to do a little experimenting, but the document link above will help you, and the same link has some C sample code too.

• ercoerco Posts: 20,250