Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need Help with counting time between inputs — Parallax Forums

Need Help with counting time between inputs

I am trying to count the milliseconds between two inputs when their states change to calculate how fast my hot wheels are traveling. I looked through the libraries and found mstime which counts the duration of a cog while it’s running but I was unsuccessful at getting any returned values. I’m almost certain the code is wrong because I’m still a beginner and the libraries are usually lacking in examples which help me tremendously. Any input to mstimer.h or any other method for counting milliseconds is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• tomcrawfordtomcrawford Posts: 1,126
    edited 2019-03-11 23:58
    Something like
    repeat until ina[first_sensor] <> 0
      startTime := CNT
      repeat until ina[Second_sensor] <> 0
      endTime := CNT
      DeltaTime := endTime - StartTime
      Velocity := Distance/DeltaTime

• Is this for the simpleIDE? I haven’t seen CNT but I’ll try it out, thank you.
  • Oh, heck! I'm sorry. My example is spin. Don't know nothin' 'bout C.
  • No, but your comment does give insight to much cleaner code than mine, and seeing how you approached the problem is beneficial.
  • JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,912
    edited 2019-03-12 22:49
    I prefer Spin for the Propeller, but as I've been doing a bunch of coding in C for another processor, I decided to download SimpleIDE and give it a try.

This code measures the event time in system ticks and displays the result in 1/100ths milliseconds (10 microseconds). If you use optical sensors the output will probably be active-low which is how this code works. If your sensors are active-high you'll need to change waitpne to waitpeq. Timed events must be less than ~26 seconds, otherwise there will be a roll-over error with the CNT register.
    /*
      Event timer
      -- measures milliseconds between falling edges of two sensors
    */