Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
And again: Which language to start for P1 — Parallax Forums

And again: Which language to start for P1

Hello Everyone,

I know there has been discussions in the past but I think things have changed since the P2 is on the horizon. Maybe there are new arguments for any of the language.

From today's perspective what ist the best for me?
To learn the P1 I want to program a self made robot with OLED, LEDs, push buttons, ADC and 6DoF Sensors (Maybe a independent thread will follow).

Later I would love to go on with the P2

For me it looks like:

SPIN
+ Made for the P1
+ time sensitife functions can be done by PASM
+ OBEX is available
+ good support and tech papers; I have the book from Harprit Sandhu
+ apparently lots of forum members love it
+ I already could do LEDs blink. (But that's all.)
- not recommended for the P2, so I have to start again
- no standard language

C / C++
+ Is for P1 and P2
+ I have some experience programming an Arduino
+ some documentation for P1
- few libraries exists, so slower motivation relapsing

BlocklyProp
+ looks like fun
+ I can teach the kids earlier than C or SPIN
- I know nothing about
- I want to improve my coding experience

Else / Tachyon Forth
+ maybe speed
- I do not know a singe thing of other languages
- less documentary, less people who can help
- less or no libraries

So what would you recommend for me or others in my situation right at this moment?

Without P2 I propably would go for SPIN, but now I'm really uncertain.

Any comment is wanted.

Thank you a lot,
Joi

Now the boring part - my introduction