Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help, Please. Generate multi phase sine wave. — Parallax Forums

Help, Please. Generate multi phase sine wave.

Hello,

Right out the box, I'm a newbie to Propeller.

I need to generate five PWM sine waves each 72 degrees out of phase with each other.

Is this possible?

Thank you

Comments

• At what frequency, and using what kind of output?

There are several ways to do this either in Spin or, if you need high frequencies, PASM. You can generate the output as PWM using the cog counter-timers, but you will need three cogs to generate five signals. There is a sine table in the ROM which is handy for this sort of thing, but it covers 0-90 degrees so you will have to scan it backward-forward and invert it to get the other quadrants.
  • Yes, but the output from the propeller is going to be square way and not sine wave. Your going to have to use some kind of RC combination to make it look like a sine wave.

Mike
  • With the counter-timers you can do PWM with 12.5 ns granularity at 80 Mhz, which looks pretty smooth at audio freqs. That's why we need to know the output frequency target.
  • Mark_TMark_T Posts: 1,981
    edited 2019-02-02 17:04
    iseries wrote: »
    Yes, but the output from the propeller is going to be square way and not sine wave. Your going to have to use some kind of RC combination to make it look like a sine wave.

Mike

The question is about PWM approximations to sine waves, the 5-phase motor's inductance does all the low
    pass filtering needed.

Firstly is this is a 5 or 10 wire stepper?
  • Thank you for the replies.

My propeller is running at 100Mhz.

The frequency needed is 1mhz max but mostly 40khz.

My stepper is a Pentagon 5-wire motor.

I read somewhere that the counters are slower due to init., startup and stopping.
    The article said DAC's would be faster and more accurate.
    The Propeller does not have an internal DAC but the internal video should be better than the counters, right?