Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is it worth reviving the PropScope OpenSource Project? — Parallax Forums

Is it worth reviving the PropScope OpenSource Project?

Hi, it's been awhile since I've posted anything. In fact due to technical issues with my old account I had to open another account.

I was involved in OBC's Propscope project way back when and was thinking of the software advances since that project was started. With Xamarin a cross platform project could be developed. I don't know Xamarin but as a software developer I know I could pick it up quickly.

I have all the documentation Parallax and Hanno put out for the project but sadly I don't have any of the pasm code that was posted on OBC's PropellerPowered site. I do believe somebody at least had code for interleave sampling of the ADC in the PropScope. With that site being long since shut down I was wondering if anyone on the forum had copies?

I also wonder with the PropScope being discontinued a long while ago and since most of the interest is now in the Propeller 2, there will be enough interest to make it worth attempting.

Comments

• I think the problem here is that Hanno never documented the protocol used since it was also part of his commercial ViewPort.

And Hanno seems to be awol, sadly. I do not have any copies but I tested it at that time and it was quite simple, almost useless, except for getting the basics done.

I have a PropScope and use it very rarely, It is nice but quite slow. But a P2propScope might be a interesting product, since it would be faster and could work stand alone without a PC connected...

Enjoy!

Mike
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2019-02-02 22:49
    Welcome back. I remember the name. I didn't follow the Propscope venture on Jeff's site, and never saved from there. That's not like me, the data horder. Guess it's lost to the ether. :neutral:
  • There is a project on github that works with the propscope: https://github.com/rbehm-ibb/PropScope