P2 Evaluation Board - Accessory Set 64006-ES

24

Comments

  • Seairth wrote: »
    And these will work with the acrylic enclosure we are all using?

    I hope so! This image shows how much interference there should be. All that is needed is to take off the sharp corner.

    Breakout%20PCB%20interference.jpg
    492 x 800 - 97K
  • And here is a render showing how the boards attach...

    P2-EVAL%2001%20s.png
    885 x 600 - 812K
  • W9GFO wrote: »
    Seairth wrote: »
    And these will work with the acrylic enclosure we are all using?

    I hope so! This image shows how much interference there should be. All that is needed is to take off the sharp corner.

    Yup! Two seconds on the belt sander. :)
    Infernal Machine
  • Publison wrote: »
    Yup! Two seconds on the belt sander. :)
    ...or about five seconds with a nail file.
  • ElectrodudeElectrodude Posts: 1,288
    edited 2019-01-04 - 05:31:31
    Why not a stereo mic input? (EDIT: 5 RGBHV pins for VGA + 2 for stereo headphone out + 1 for mono mic in = all 8 pins; there's no extra pin for a stereo mic. I guess the four RCA jacks can be used for unamplified stereo in and out.)

    What happened to the longer prototype board shown in W9GFO's rendering?

    Is there any possibility of a second set that has more prototyping boards, as well as a dual-header HyperRAM board and perhaps a larger dual-header prototyping board? Somebody suggested a while ago that a board be made that plugs into a breadboard and connects to the 64000-ES board via a 12-pin ribbon cable - is this a possibility?
  • jmgjmg Posts: 13,903
    Why not a stereo mic input?

    Yes i2s to 'something audio' is another missing item that should be included in tests.

  • Why not a stereo mic input?

    What happened to the longer prototype board shown in W9GFO's rendering?

    Is there any possibility of a second set that has more prototyping boards, as well as a dual-header HyperRAM board and perhaps a larger dual-header prototyping board? Somebody suggested a while ago that a board be made that plugs into a breadboard and connects to the 64000-ES board via a 12-pin ribbon cable - is this a possibility?

    My guess these files will be available Open Source Diptrace files. Anyone would be able to modify the existing boards to their need. The BOM should have the part numbers.
    Infernal Machine
  • ElectrodudeElectrodude Posts: 1,288
    edited 2019-01-03 - 22:20:12
    Off-topic, but why does Parallax still use Diptrace for open source board designs when KiCAD is superior and open source?
  • jmgjmg Posts: 13,903
    Off-topic, but why does Parallax still use Diptrace for open source board designs when KiCAD is superior and open source?

    I think it's that old thing called inertia - sticking with what you know...
  • What happened to the longer prototype board shown in W9GFO's rendering?

    Not sure what you mean, it is what Von posted an image of in the other thread - forums.parallax.com/discussion/169509/p2-evaluation-board-prototype-board-64005-es#latest

  • They used to be a re-seller for Diptrace and I'm sure they built some big libraries based on it. It's harder for a corporation to change their software than a hobbyist.
    Infernal Machine
  • W9GFO wrote: »
    What happened to the longer prototype board shown in W9GFO's rendering?

    Not sure what you mean, it is what Von posted an image of in the other thread - forums.parallax.com/discussion/169509/p2-evaluation-board-prototype-board-64005-es#latest

    Oh, sorry, I didn't see the other thread. Thanks for pointing it out to me.
  • Publison wrote: »
    They used to be a re-seller for Diptrace and I'm sure they built some big libraries based on it. It's harder for a corporation to change their software than a hobbyist.

    Not only harder, but exponentially expensive.

    Over time, an amazing set of processes will end up dependent on whatever CAD system and workflow kicked the whole thing off.

    I've been a part of some migrations. Not ECAD, but essentially the same set of problems, and a bigger, sometimes a little more painful MCAD data.

    I have never seen one of those come in on budget. And that's just hard costs. Soft costs, just general crappiness going on, tends to linger for sometimes years.

    And after that?

    The old system tends to get virtualized (and some CAD vendors are amazingly hostile to doing that --to the point of having to do some hacks to get it working), and made available for a decade or so. And it's not just an archive. People end up tapping that resource over and over.

    Reasons include:

    Error correction.

    Filling in missing data.

    Sustaining engineering. It's super rare for old projects to be moved forward, unless they are going to get a serious redesign, or serve as the basis for some derivative design.

    Because of all that, I tend to get a little nervous about "in the cloud" CAD. For us, and small firms, not building things that are too complex, cloud CAD will probably end well, probably. Maybe.

    If it doesn't, or a vendor just makes something go away? Scary stuff.

    BTW, this is the primary reason Open Source tools have not made the inroads we all expected in the 90's.

    On the upside, be thankful you can run all that stuff today! It's a great time to be into this hobby.
    Do not taunt Happy Fun Ball! @opengeekorg ---> Be Excellent To One Another SKYPE = acuity_doug
    Parallax colors simplified: https://forums.parallax.com/discussion/123709/commented-graphics-demo-spin<br>
  • jmgjmg Posts: 13,903
    Off-topic, but why does Parallax still use Diptrace for open source board designs when KiCAD is superior and open source?

    Just digging around this, and things might not be so bad...

    I see for DipTrace 'what's new'
    Version 3.3 (Oct 22, 2018)
    - KiCAD Schematic and PCB import.
    - KiCAD Library and Footprint import.
    Version 2.1 (February 10, 2010)
    P-CAD ASCII, PADS Import/Export improvements.
    Version 2.0 (February 17, 2009)
    P-CAD ASCII Import/Export in Schematic and PCB Layout.


    KiCAD imports PCAD ASCII quite well, into the PCB side - eg I imported P2D2 fine that way. FWIR fairly minor issues around plane-fill priority.

    If Parallax publish the P2 Eval in P-CAD ASCII, that would be easy to try.
    The fact DipTrace can now import KiCAD (since october) makes a round-trip check possible.
  • It's why I still use Protel 95/98 :smiley:
    My Prop boards: P8XBlade2, RamBlade, CpuBlade, TriBlade
    Prop OS (also see Sphinx, PropDos, PropCmd, Spinix)
    Website: www.clusos.com
    Prop Tools (Index) , Emulators (Index) , ZiCog (Z80)
  • Electrodude wrote: »
    Off-topic, but why does Parallax still use Diptrace for open source board designs when KiCAD is superior and open source?

    I also like it because it has a nice Digikey Library that you can import.
  • Since there seem to be some kind of trace length or capacitance issues with the built-in SD socket, can we get an accessory board that will work for high speed SD?
  • Mark_TMark_T Posts: 1,981
    edited 2019-01-09 - 12:59:35
    David Betz wrote: »
    Cool! Thanks for explaining this. I have never seen a connector like that.

    I discovered those connectors in old hard disc drives - the whole controller PCB just plugs onto dupont
    header pins using them, very neat and I'm sure it allowed the drive hardware to be automatically tested on some
    jig before the PCB was mounted. I would imagine the entire assembly process is robotic.

    I've seen 2mm and 0.1" pitches in drives. With long pins you could even stack boards - not seen that though.
  • Oooh... fresh from the oven...
    480 x 577 - 445K
  • Send a panel FedEx. I have a pizza cutter. :)
    Infernal Machine
  • aw, would love to. But they've not had their toppings just yet !!!
  • :)
    2560 x 1600 - 327K
    Terry's Workbench

    Feel the need for speed between your PC's com port and Prop?
    Try the FTDI 245 and the FullDuplexParallel Object.
    Check out my spin driver for the Parallax "96 x 64 Color OLED Display Module" Product ID: 28087
    22FPS video from the P2 on the Parallax "96 x 64 Color OLED Display Module" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ja84rf38QHM
  • 8 slices of I/O
    795 x 821 - 797K
  • Ha, classic!...

    Looks good, can't wait.
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 10,959
    edited 2019-01-10 - 21:10:47
    VonSzarvas wrote: »
    8 slices of I/O

    Not a rendering, correct?

    We have our octopus!
    Infernal Machine
  • correct. 'Tis the real deal.
  • Looks great!!

    Lots to play with. I think that even I could have made the Goertzel board LOL
  • TubularTubular Posts: 3,683
    edited 2019-01-10 - 23:43:43
    Have you or Chip tried the Goertzel board yet, Von Szarvas? To get it to work well 'in the air', like Chip's demo video', it may need a guard ring around the received, to separate the transmitters from the receiver. However it'll still likely work fine at close range.
  • msrobotsmsrobots Posts: 2,909
    edited 2019-01-11 - 01:11:54
    what connector is on the serial host board? looks like a cube.

    Looking at the control board I see 4 switches is it possible to still use the other pins on the connector? My question is if one can at least put some jumper wire in the connector from the top?

    Looking quite good overall, I definitely need a set. And additional 7 of the LED boards. 448 LEDs...

    Mike
    I am just another Code Monkey.
    A determined coder can write COBOL programs in any language. -- Author unknown.
    Press any key to continue, any other key to quit

    The key words "MUST", "MUST NOT", "REQUIRED", "SHALL", "SHALL NOT", "SHOULD", "SHOULD NOT", "RECOMMENDED", "MAY", and "OPTIONAL" in this post are to be interpreted as described in RFC 2119.
  • Roy ElthamRoy Eltham Posts: 2,655
    edited 2019-01-11 - 01:15:31
    msrobots,
    serial host: It's a double USB A port jack. Two USB A ports stacked one on top of the other (like on some of the ras pi's and most PC motherboard back panels).
    control board: it has 4 buttons and 4 LEDs (one by each button).
Sign In or Register to comment.