Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Why Oberon for the Prop2 ? — Parallax Forums

Why Oberon for the Prop2 ?

>David Betz Posts:
>1:07PM
>Your Oberon project sounds interesting. I'm looking forward to your new thread about it. Welcome!

My Initial post in "Status of P2 C/C++ Compiler?"

Hi all,

Cluso99 is correct, i have been lurking on these forums for some time, and thanks for the welcome !

To answer your questions, i have 30+ years of C experience, but not a lot of experience with implementing
C compilers. I have modified the back end of the gcc C compiler (and also gas) many years ago. I have
written linkers/loaders to run as the final stage of the gcc toolchain to load into various embedded boards that i used.

I have a mountain of experience with assembler (S360/390 thru to many modern cpus).

I do have a large amount of experience with writing/modifying compilers, but not C compilers.
Most of my compiler experience is with the Wirth type compilers. (eg: Pascal, Modula, Oberon family)

Long term i need a good C compiler on the Prop2, and am happy to work with others to achieve this.

Short term, i need experience on the Prop2, i never used the P1. To write a compiler backend requires
an intimate knowledge of the instruction set/architecture. I will get this experience with Prop2 by writing
a new back end for the latest version of the Oberon 07 Compiler to target the Prop2.

I plan to make all the source code available on github under a MIT license. The Oberon 07 Prop 2
compiler and tools will be written in C such that it will run on Windows, Linux, MacOS, BSD,Dos etc.

I wont post more in this thread about Oberon,i will make a new thread on the Forum eventually, or you can start an Oberon thread and i will answer any questions in that thread.

I am impressed by some of the posted assembly code that the fastspin/C compiler can produce ! Now if
that was combined with all the optimizations gcc can produce ...

And yes, my real name is actually mark.