Propeller 2 Logic Analyzer

2»

Comments

  • Cluso99 wrote: »
    No worries.

    I just tried VGA and I am not getting anything displayed. PC is working with your code.
    I will need to check my wiring but not tonight :(

    VGA and Brian's LA work as I tried it already. This is my setup:
    P0-->HSYNC
    P1-->BLUE
    P2-->GREEN
    P3-->RED
    P4-->VSYNC

    Just wire up the grounds and connect to these pins directly and it will work, especially as Brian's code runs on a P2D2 like yours.

    Yes, that is how I thought I had wired it. GND is just above the P0/P1 pair.
    If the cable meters ok, I'll try another monitor. I am using an Acer X233H 23". Perhaps it's not recognising the auto switch (might require 3V3/5V on the power pin 9)
    My Prop boards: P8XBlade2 , RamBlade , CpuBlade , TriBlade
    P1 Prop OS (also see Sphinx, PropDos, PropCmd, Spinix)
    Website: www.clusos.com
    P1: Tools (Index) , Emulators (Index) , ZiCog (Z80)
    P2: Tools & Code , Tricks & Traps
  • cgraceycgracey Posts: 11,946
    edited 2018-11-14 - 22:19:59
    While you must use 2.0V DAC mode for R/G/B, you need to use 3.3V DAC mode for HSYNC.
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 15,548
    edited 2018-11-15 - 08:22:28
    OK. VGA working - Vsync not connected properly :(

    Presume its monochrome?
    My Prop boards: P8XBlade2 , RamBlade , CpuBlade , TriBlade
    P1 Prop OS (also see Sphinx, PropDos, PropCmd, Spinix)
    Website: www.clusos.com
    P1: Tools (Index) , Emulators (Index) , ZiCog (Z80)
    P2: Tools & Code , Tricks & Traps
  • Palette is at end of code.
    Comment out monochrome palette and uncomment color palette.
    Melbourne, Australia
  • Done. Nice job Brian :smiley:

    My Prop boards: P8XBlade2 , RamBlade , CpuBlade , TriBlade
    P1 Prop OS (also see Sphinx, PropDos, PropCmd, Spinix)
    Website: www.clusos.com
    P1: Tools (Index) , Emulators (Index) , ZiCog (Z80)
    P2: Tools & Code , Tricks & Traps
  • Brian,
    I've just run up P123_A9_LA.exe on Wine and it gives me a baudrate error, see attached, that seems at odds with experience. Or at least Linux programs don't have the same restriction. I guess Wine might be filtering the setting.

    Is that due to a query in your code? If so, I'd like to try a hack where it just specifies the desired rate and hoping it works.

    1101 x 908 - 19K
    We have the vastness of the internet and yet billions of people decided to spend most of their time within a horribly designed, fake-news emporium of a website that sucks every possible piece of personal information out of you so it can sell it to others. And they see nothing wrong with that.
  • evanhevanh Posts: 8,365
    edited 2018-11-17 - 05:44:35
    Oh, just found the later zip file with P2_LA_control_3.exe in it. That's happy with comport as long as I use 115200 baud. I'll assume that's a usable rate ...

    EDIT: Except I've only got a P123 board. :(
    We have the vastness of the internet and yet billions of people decided to spend most of their time within a horribly designed, fake-news emporium of a website that sucks every possible piece of personal information out of you so it can sell it to others. And they see nothing wrong with that.
  • From what I've seen, it should work on a P123 board if code is recompiled.

    I used 1M baud. You have to open the com port on the pc, then click the RUN? button.
    My Prop boards: P8XBlade2 , RamBlade , CpuBlade , TriBlade
    P1 Prop OS (also see Sphinx, PropDos, PropCmd, Spinix)
    Website: www.clusos.com
    P1: Tools (Index) , Emulators (Index) , ZiCog (Z80)
    P2: Tools & Code , Tricks & Traps
  • For P123-A9 board you need to change back to a single HUBSET #$FF and change VSYNC to 0 from 4.
    That should do it, I'll check it tomorrow.
    The P123-A9 will support 3 MBaud.

    BTW I run the Logic Analyzer with a FT2232H as a propplug @ 12Mbaud.
    I want to switch to 50Mbaud sync mode next to get a real snappy frame rate. :)
    Melbourne, Australia
  • evanhevanh Posts: 8,365
    edited 2018-11-18 - 12:19:14
    Thanks Brian. Did that and it's running 3 cogs with a couple of green leds alternately flickering ...

    Loading up the LA_Control program on Wine and click Open Port and bam, the FPGA Prop2 resets. :( I'm guessing the DTR line gets pulled.

    Clicking RUN and I see Tx led flicker. But, since the Prop2 is now sitting idle, there is no reply.

    We have the vastness of the internet and yet billions of people decided to spend most of their time within a horribly designed, fake-news emporium of a website that sucks every possible piece of personal information out of you so it can sell it to others. And they see nothing wrong with that.
  • evanhevanh Posts: 8,365
    edited 2018-11-18 - 12:44:06
    Got past that hurdle - I loaded the .obj file as BOOT_P2.BIX onto a uSD card and used the experimental SD boot wiring to auto load up on reset.

    Sadly clicking on RUN or INFO produced no display. Wine is reporting a slow stream of "004f:fixme:comm:wait_on EV_RXFLAG not handled" messages when doing so.

    Think I'll be leaving it there.

    We have the vastness of the internet and yet billions of people decided to spend most of their time within a horribly designed, fake-news emporium of a website that sucks every possible piece of personal information out of you so it can sell it to others. And they see nothing wrong with that.
  • I am playing with VGA now with 1920x1080 @ 2bpp. Uses 506.25KB of hub ram :smiley:
    My Prop boards: P8XBlade2 , RamBlade , CpuBlade , TriBlade
    P1 Prop OS (also see Sphinx, PropDos, PropCmd, Spinix)
    Website: www.clusos.com
    P1: Tools (Index) , Emulators (Index) , ZiCog (Z80)
    P2: Tools & Code , Tricks & Traps
  • :P
    We have the vastness of the internet and yet billions of people decided to spend most of their time within a horribly designed, fake-news emporium of a website that sucks every possible piece of personal information out of you so it can sell it to others. And they see nothing wrong with that.
  • evanhevanh Posts: 8,365
    edited 2018-11-19 - 01:57:19
    ozpropdev wrote: »
    Here's a test code sample of exercising a smart pin in transition mode.
    It include the use of a pins selector capability to read an nearby pins state.
    Also the use of a marker signal.

    Got a match here using Wine and also inserting backslash into all LOC instructions:

    PS: I think it was always working with Wine - with nerf'd comport function. I just wasn't giving the upload enough time to complete at 115k baud. I kept on clicking buttons because it didn't show any progress.
    1301 x 724 - 22K
    We have the vastness of the internet and yet billions of people decided to spend most of their time within a horribly designed, fake-news emporium of a website that sucks every possible piece of personal information out of you so it can sell it to others. And they see nothing wrong with that.
  • evanhevanh Posts: 8,365
    edited 2018-11-19 - 02:07:54
    Dave had to resort to using a cross-platform library, I think, to make >115k work transparently for his loadp2 tool ...

    EDIT: Sort of. Looks like a bunch of people involved to get that right. Dave Hein has used osint_*.c files that have been updated by David Betz but appear to be originally written by a John Denson.

    We have the vastness of the internet and yet billions of people decided to spend most of their time within a horribly designed, fake-news emporium of a website that sucks every possible piece of personal information out of you so it can sell it to others. And they see nothing wrong with that.
  • Now imagine the timing diagram on a P2 with VGA 1920x1080 even if only the top half although in 2bpp I can fit the whole screen :)
    My Prop boards: P8XBlade2 , RamBlade , CpuBlade , TriBlade
    P1 Prop OS (also see Sphinx, PropDos, PropCmd, Spinix)
    Website: www.clusos.com
    P1: Tools (Index) , Emulators (Index) , ZiCog (Z80)
    P2: Tools & Code , Tricks & Traps
Sign In or Register to comment.