Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Gossip; Rumors and hearsay about Parallax versus Arduino — Parallax Forums

Gossip; Rumors and hearsay about Parallax versus Arduino

Please bear with me if I ask if any of you have run into comments regarding Parallax technology versus the Arduino rise in prominence---I am a ham operator (W7IUT) for years---over the last year or so, I have heard many comments at club meetings and in visiting ham radio stores that Parallax products are being overshadowed by the rising popularity and exposure of applications for Arduino----I don't know if it is just me---has anyone else had issues with any comments that Arduino is out to surpass or outdo Parallax for market? Not with me for sure, just asking! Baba

Comments

• Heater.Heater. Posts: 21,230
    This is not new. The tiny, single core, 8 bit micro-controller from ATMEL, now Microchip, has been a very popular thing for a long time in the Arduino. Never mind "Arduino is out to surpass or outdo Parallax for market", that has been so for ages as well. Everyone has heard of Arduino, very few have heard of Parallax or the Propeller.

Most "Arduinos" in use are not actually Arduinos at all. They are cheap Chinese clones. Made possible because the hardware and software of the Arduino is all open source. The actual ATMEGA chip from Microchip only costs a few cents. A Propeller chip, let alone a board with a Propeller on it, is many time more expensive than an Arduino around here.

But, when a tiny, single core, 8 bit micro-controller won't cut it a Propeller is often a great solution.

It sometimes amuses me the problems Arduino users have when they want to do more than one thing at a time and slowly realize it's just not possible.

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,912
    edited 2018-09-07 20:56
    But, when a tiny, single core, 8 bit micro-controller won't cut it a Propeller is often a great solution.
    Edited: