Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
CM2302 power cosiderations — Parallax Forums

CM2302 power cosiderations

In my new project I want to place the CM2302 module outside, and have it connected to the Activity Board using some four wire telephone cable, which will be located inside the house.

Now the questions is, since the cable will be at least forty feet in length, will the Activity board be able to supply the necessary power. I am not sure as to how much power it will cost to deliver the necessary voltage over forty feet of wire. The telephone cable has four wires that look like they maybe 16 or 18 gauge. Forty feet is my guesstimate at the moment, it could be a longer distance.

Since I am not an electrical engineer, I am not sure how I would go about calculating for the voltage value requirements. Any help would be appreciated.

Ray

Thanks

Comments

• tomcrawfordtomcrawford Posts: 1,126
    edited 2018-08-23 21:54
    You can use this calculator to determine estimate the resistance (in ohms) of your wire. Remember both wires count. Now use ohm's law to determine the voltage drop.
  • It will be fine it not a high current sensor!!

Be sure to decouple the device, and use a stiff pull up (4k7 or lower) for a long run like this.
    See fig 5.1.2 in the cm2302 user manual for suggested components for the sensor end of the cable.

Your will need to level shift to 5V as the CM2302 is not rated for cable runs over 10cm at 3V3, only 5V.
  • After reading the documentation a couple of times, on page 4, I find this note:
    Note: 1.Cable length shorter than 30 meters with 4.7K pull-up resistor proposed in the typical application circuit, more than 30 meters according to the actual situation of lower pull resistance.
    not sure how to interpret this. In the Learn forum I found a small diagram for the CM2302 implementation on the Activity Board. There it shows that a 10K pull-up resistor should be used, everything there is very close together.