Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
First camera quad-copter advice? — Parallax Forums

First camera quad-copter advice?

DelnithDelnith Posts: 1
edited 2018-08-27 02:10 in General Discussion
I was looking into purchasing my first camera drone for recreational filming along hikes and outdoor adventures. I've flown some cheap sub-$100 drones before and loved it, but was looking for a more capable drone that could give some cool experiences and videos. I do not have a lot of money to spend at the moment, preferably something under 400. In my research I found the Bebop 2 at a current price of $299 with the sky controller and two batteries. Seemed like a good deal, compared to other drones such as those made by DJI, which had better camera quality, but at a cost of around $150-$200 more than the Bebop 2. I've also read about the MJX Bugs 3 which is below $150 and has less features, but may be more suited for a beginner like me?

I'm new to this field and I may be overlooking some key factors. The bebop 2 seems to have decent reviews, and so do the drones made by DJI, but maybe those are too complex for beginners and I should just stick with cheaper drones. I'm curious if there is any input the community can give regarding a possible purchase? really what I'm looking for in my first drone is something that can take decent video (1080p is fine with me), durable, and intuitive - as I'm still new.
I saw some information about drones in this article: https://thedigitalcamera.net/best-drones-with-camera/, please tell me which is the best.

Any advice or experience you can share would be much appreciated, thank you!

Comments

• Welcome to the forums.

At the under $400 price, you should start out with a used or refurbished DJI, say Phantom 3. These can be found on ebay:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/DJI-Phantom-3-Standard-Drone-Quadcopter-2-7K-Camera-3-Axis-Gimbal-CP-PT-000455/232798931131?hash=item3633e5c8bb