Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Possible P2 Logos - Page 9 — Parallax Forums

Possible P2 Logos

12345679»

Comments

• Heater.Heater. Posts: 21,230
    The beanie is not a problem. As we are talking about the perceptions of some supposed "professionals" here is my story (again) ...

As a young graduate engineer I was designing systems using microprocessors back in 1980. You know, the good old days of the 8080, Z80, 6800, 6809, etc, etc.

Despite moving more and more into software over the years I remained involved in processor selection and hardware design well into the 1990's. Intel 386, the Inmos Transputer and such.

Years later I felt the urge to do something with a modern MCU. What were my choices? ATMEL AVR and Microchip PIC basically.

On searching the catalogs, on line and off, that I found at the time I stumbled across this weird thing called a Propeller. From a company I had never heard of. It was not in there with the other microprocessors and MCUs but buried away in some other section of the catalog.

I quickly skipped over the Propeller. Why?

1) What are these "COG" things?

2) Hmm.. they seem to be 32 bit processors.

3) But only having 512 instructions to work in is kind of useless.

4) There are no peripherals. No UART, no PWM, no nothing much.

5) Yeah OK, seems to have some video support, but I don't need that.

6) No interrupts. What, how can anyone do anything serious with that?

7) No C compiler. At least give me something I can relate to.

8) Yes there is this weird Spin language. But the only compiler for that is Windows only. Basically useless to me. This is 2000 and something, where is any Open Source and Linux support?

So I persisted with the AVRs and PICs. Eventually I had pile of dead AVRs and PICs on the bench. Mostly because of badly set fuses due to the wonky Linux tools available at the time.

And I had one little project were having an interrupt upset the critical path was bad news.