Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I'm Not a Genius so it Takes Longer... — Parallax Forums

I'm Not a Genius so it Takes Longer...

I've been trying to understand the "Square Wave" object well enough to explain it to myself in plain English because I'm working on a project that involves IR serial communication: I know you don't have to understand 'how' the code works in order to use it but I 'want' to understand it. It's part of my learning process.
For several days I had the Propeller manual PDF open. I had my calculator and scratch paper in front of me. "How does the counter transmit IR at a specific frequency for a specific length of time?"
Finally, after three days I saw the key: The transmit is controlled by toggling DIRA.
I have asked myself since I started programming "Can I do it?" So far, at least, "Yes, I can".

Comments

• msrobotsmsrobots Posts: 3,701
    edited 2018-06-16 20:18
    Yes, this is where programming starts to be fun.

Reading other peoples sources and finally seeing them pieces falling together and seeing the whole program.

I spend days maybe even weeks looking at Lonesock's PASM sd-block driver from FSRW. What a cool piece of code. And if you look long enough at it you can see the difference between lonesock's handwriting and kuroneko's handwriting.

I can not praise JonnyMac more than I already do, his code is simple beautiful.

So 'Yes you can'

Enjoy

Mike
  • @msrobots, kuroneko was brilliant. I have some of his code in a folder on my desktop that he wrote for me when I was trying to understand "wear-leveling". I have another folder where I store many of the gems I get from JonnyMac. He has helped me 'big time'.
    I love the Propeller and this forum. There's no other way to say it.