Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Schematics — Parallax Forums

Schematics

AndroidAndroid Posts: 82
edited 2013-06-11 22:20 in General Discussion
Hello! Does anyone know of someplace with some info on reading schematics? I am an absolute beginner at this, thanks in advance!

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2013-06-10 14:14
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2013-06-10 14:30
    Gordon McComb's Robot Builder's Bonanza has a lot of basic electronics information. I sure wish I had Gordon's book five years ago when I was first learning to use microcontrollers. If don't already have it, get it.

Here's a forum thread with some discussion about the book.
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,253
    edited 2013-06-10 15:35
    An old but highly recommended book by guru Forrest Mims, sold thru Radio Shack. I treasure my old yellowed copy and still refer to it periodically.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Engineers-Notebook-II-Integrated-Circuit-Applications-Forrest-Mims-book-1982-/130922830041?pt=US_Texbook_Education&hash=item1e7b9bd8d9#ht_188wt_917
  • bill190bill190 Posts: 769
    edited 2013-06-11 08:39
    Also note that "schematics" can also be called a "wiring diagram" or "electrical diagram" for various things.

And various electrical diagrams for specific things may have their own unique symbols which are not found in other diagrams. (Like an electrical diagram for a house, air conditioning unit, TV, car, medial equipment, aircraft, etc. will use different symbols.) Sometimes there will be a table in the front or back of a electrical diagrams manual explaining what each symbol is for.

Many electronic schematic diagrams show a "black box" with pin numbers for various chips and give the chip number. But don't show what is inside each chip. To find that information, search for a "Data Sheet" for the chip. Here is an example of a data sheet for one chip...

http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm555.pdf