Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Programming Help for a newbie — Parallax Forums

Programming Help for a newbie

Hello Everybody. This is my first post. I am new to the propeller line of products. Hopefully I'm posting in the correct forum.

I have purchased a Propeller Project Board USB. I have (2) banks of buttons, 10 buttons in each bank. Each button in bank 2 corresponds to a button in bank 1. I want to read the buttons in bank 1. When a button is pressed, I need to energize a SSR. The SSR will remain energized until the corresponding button in bank 2 is pressed. I have never programmed a propeller chip. I am assuming the program would read the bank 1 buttons, when a button is pressed it will fall into a subroutine looking for a press of the corresponding button in bank 2, and then reset to start reading the bank 1 buttons again. I hope this makes sense. Thanks for your help. Have a good day.

Comments

• Welcome aboard. I would suggest starting with reading about the Propeller chip, and understand what voltage the pins are, how much current you can source and sink, etc. Then move on to reading the state of one button, debouncing it, and then controlling an LED with that button. With 20 different inputs you might also want to check out shift registers - https://www.parallax.com/product/602-00009

The Project Board has examples to get you started. A lot will depend on what language you want to use. Were you going to use SPIN or PropC programming language?

If you're new to programming either will do. IMO SPIN is easier than C.
  • Thanks for the reply. I am going to use SPIN. I decided to use the propeller, because of the number of inputs. Shift Registers scare me only because of my lack of experience. I thought using each button to a pin on the board maybe easier for me starting out.