Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stepper Motors with Activity Board and H-Bridge — Parallax Forums

Stepper Motors with Activity Board and H-Bridge

Hello, I'm not sure where this discussion should go so I defaulted to the general chat. Anyway. I am trying to drive a stepper motor via an Activity Board and a H-Bridge using C as my language for programming. My question is where to find any libraries to actually simplify running this stepper or just simply how to do it. I'm using a Bipolar Stepper and have no experience working with steppers. Any help is appreciated thanks. P.S. I'm not entirely sure on how the communication even works between the board and the stepper in terms of signals and what not. I'm very new to steppers as a whole and can't really find much major help on the software side of it. Any resources on steppers as a whole would help too.

Comments

• I use a small board from Pololu with an A4988 driver on it, made specifically for driving small bipolar steppers up to about 1.5 Amps per coil. All I have to do is tell it which direction and pulse the step input. I can also select full step and microstepping down to 1/16. Coil current is controlled by setting a reference voltage with an on board pot. It really simplifies operating a stepper.
  • Hal
    It really simplifies operating a stepper.

I would say that is an under statement :)

plau45

Since this is your first experience with steppers, please take Hal's advice, and purchase a premade driver from Pololu, because it will greatly simplify a variety of issues.

Most bipolar stepper drivers have three main input pins, which are: Step, Direction, and Enable. However, most bipolar stepper drivers can have the Enable input bypassed, to help reduce IO requirements.

The Direction pin can also be bypassed, if you only need your stepper motor to rotate in one particular direction.