Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Assembly - Main RAM access — Parallax Forums

Assembly - Main RAM access

I'm fairly new to this. I'm sure it's been answered somewhere, but I can't find it.

My ultimate goal is to sample audio input and store it in Main RAM so it can be later used to send to a speaker, saved to SDcard, etc.

I understand how to pass an address to the cog and write a single value back to it. However, what I'm needing is an array of hundreds or thousands of samples. How to I set up an an array in Spin that I can then send the address of to the assembly cog to do this sampling, and how to I address and write the sampled values back to main RAM?

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    sbergren wrote: »
    I'm fairly new to this. I'm sure it's been answered somewhere, but I can't find it.

My ultimate goal is to sample audio input and store it in Main RAM so it can be later used to send to a speaker, saved to SDcard, etc.

I understand how to pass an address to the cog and write a single value back to it. However, what I'm needing is an array of hundreds or thousands of samples. How to I set up an an array in Spin that I can then send the address of to the assembly cog to do this sampling, and how to I address and write the sampled values back to main RAM?

The cogs only have 2KBytes (512 longs) each, of which only 16 longs are in use. Hub ram is 32KBytes so you could store up to 16,384 16 bit samples which is at most only a second or two of audio. To store any more samples would require external ram.
  • I'm going to be sampling extremely low frequencies, so I won't need a sampling rate of more than 100-200 Hz. So I'll have plenty of space. Can you answer my question addressing question? I THINK I may have it working, but I'm just storing bad data, so it doesn't look like it's working.
  • kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    edited 2017-03-08 16:11